Tom Brady and Myles Garrett

  • Tom Brady is the (-150) betting favorite to be named the 2021-2022 NFL MVP.
  • Myles Garrett has (+280) odds to win Defensive Player of the Year as the favorite.

TAMPA BAY – The NFL MVP and Defensive Player of the Year awards are two of the most prestigious awards the league has to offer. Tom Brady and Myles Garrett are the current favorites.

Tom Brady Favored To Win Fourth MVP, Make History

Making history is nothing new to Brady who is favored to do so once again, at least according to legal sports betting sites. Brady is set to break his own record as the oldest player to ever win the NFL MVP award, a record he set back in 2017.

NFL MVP Odds – 2021/2022

  • Tom Brady -150
  • Aaron Rodgers +650
  • Kyler Murray +800

As the current NFL leader in passing touchdowns, passing yards and QBR, there really isn’t much of a debate as to who deserves the MVP award through 14 weeks but much can change in the final month of the season.

Aaron Rodgers has thrown for 1,033 yards, a combined 10 touchdowns and no interceptions over his last three games. If he continues to play at this level and Brady’s play falls off a bit, the gap can certainly close before the season ends.

Plus, Rodgers is on pace to have a better record than Brady which could be a tie-breaker depending on how close it gets.

Myles Garrett Leads Close Defensive Player Of The Year Race

According to the NFL betting sites, the NFL Defensive Player of the year award is down to three or four players in Myles Garrett, T.J. Watt, Micah Parsons and Trevon Diggs. Garrett currently holds the shortest line, but barely.

Defensive Player of the Year Odds

  • Myles Garrett +280
  • T.J. Watt +300
  • Micah Parsons +400
  • Trevon Diggs +700

Garrett is second in the league in sacks with 15 and broke the franchise record with a scoop-and-score in Week 14. It was his first forced fumble, fumble recovery and touchdown of the season.

Watt, second in odds, may be more deserving as he leads the NFL in sacks (16) has four forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. Many believe Watt was robbed last season and it could prove true as he has more total and solo tackles compared to Garrett.

However, a third option may have more value than both.

Parsons is looking to become only the second rookie to ever win DPOY honors, Lawrence Taylor being the first. He has 12 sacks, three forced fumbles and is second in the NFL in tackles for loss with 17.

As a linebacker, there’s an argument to make that he’s been more impactful in many areas while being equally as effective in rushing the passer.

Advertising Disclosure

In order to provide you with the best independent sports betting news and content may receive a commission from partners when you make a purchase through a link on our site.

News tags: | | | | | | |