• The Lombardi Trophy is named after the NFL icon, Vince Lombardi.
  • Every franchise to win a Super Bowl in the NFL receives one of these trophies for their performance.
  • Out of all 32 NFL teams, only four teams have never had the shot at the Super Bowl; the Houston Texans, Jacksonville Jaguars, Cleveland Browns, and the Detroit Lions.

MIAMI – That trophy that is hoisted up at the end of every Super Bowl by the winning team is the iconic Lombardi Trophy. This tradition started back in 1967, named after the famous Vince Lombardi, a prominent figure in NFL history.

He was the coach to win the first Super Bowl, appearing in Super Bowl I with the Green Bay Packers. He also won Super Bowl II with the Packers.

Little Known Facts About The Lombardi Trophy

Tiffany & Co produces the 21-inch, 6.5 lb. trophy annually for the winning team of each Super Bowl to have their own. It is made from pure sterling silver and retails for a little over $10,000. Should they ever be sold, their value would be infinitely higher.

The two franchises with the most Lombardi Trophies are the New England Patriots and the Pittsburgh Steelers, tied for six each. Next in line are the San Francisco 49ers and the Dallas Cowboys, both with five trophies in their display cases. If San Francisco can win Super Bowl 54, they’d match the ranks of the Steelers and the Patriots with six.

It’s a tradition among athletes or any member of the winning Super Bowl team that each gets to take the trophy home for a day to revel in their success.

However, because this trophy is so sacred to the NFL because of what it represents, some athletes go a little off the rails when they have it in their possession. Last year, Rob Gronkowski put a dent in the New England Patriots’ team trophy by using it as a bat to bunt at a Boston Red Sox game.

The Commissioner of the NFL, Roger Goodell will be giving the trophy to the winning team after the conclusion of SB LIV. The Kansas City Chiefs (-120) and the San Francisco 49ers (+100) each have a chance to get their hands on that hunk of silver. Kansas City is projected to win as the 1.5-point favorite.

Super Bowl 54 will begin on February 2 at 6:30 p.m. EST. It will be televised on the Fox Network. Viewers will get a front-row seat to see which team will receive the NFL’s coveted Lombardi Trophy this year.

News tags: | | | | |