Last updated on: April 22nd, 2022

Triple Crown Betting

The Triple Crown encompasses all three of the major horse races that happen every year. These races are the Kentucky Derby (at Churchill Downs, Kentucky), the Preakness Stakes (at Pimlico Race Track in Baltimore, Maryland), and the Belmont Stakes (at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York). Because these races see the biggest names in horse racing compete every year, sportsbooks host odds for if a single horse will win all three. This is a rare achievement that has only happened 13 times in history and has not happened since 2018. Because of this rarity, the odds for a Triple Crown winner are usually long, bettors who hit on this wager cash in big.

Triple Crown

Is It Legal To Bet On A Triple Crown Winner?

It is absolutely legal to bet on the Triple Crown. There are several locations that prospective bettors can place their Triple Crown bets, including legal sportsbooks – both online and land-based – non-participating race track locations that offer pari-mutuel simulcast services, as well as at the event venues themselves.

2022 Triple Crown Betting Odds

Betting on the Triple Crown races consists odds on all three of the races and also odds on if one horse will win all three races for the most prestigious award in horse racing. Right now, there are only odds for the first leg of the Triple Crown, the Kentucky Derby, as the race gets closer, more odds could start to pop up. Epicenter is the favorite to win the Kentucky Derby with +450 odds.

Kentucky Derby 2022 Odds

2022 Triple Crown Races

The three major Triple Crown Races are the Kentucky Derby, Belmont Stakes, and the Preakness Stakes. These events see the biggest names in horse racing compete for glory. Winning the Triple Crown, or finishing first in all three races, is a rare feat that only 13 horses have ever accomplished with the last winner coming in 2018. Sportsbooks host odds for horses in each individual race as well as odds for a single horse to win the Triple Crown. Triple Crown betting is the peak of horse racing betting.

Best Triple Crown Horse Racing Betting Sites

Those interested in betting on horse racing have a variety of options available for online sportsbooks. Prospective bettors should look for a trusted online sportsbook with a good reputation for ease of use, valuable lines, and dependable payouts, such as the one reviewed below.


Bovada Sportsbook

The Best Place To Bet On Horse Racing

Bovada is, without a doubt, the leading online horse racing betting site. It has an established reputation as trustworthy and easy-to-use, with a plethora of odds and lines for a variety of events (including the Triple Crown) to gamble on. Bovada also offers live betting, meaning you can wager on updated live odds for the action as it unfolds. When it comes to choosing an online sportsbook, more people have chosen Bovada than any other, and their sparkling reputation is a testament to the superb level of service they provide.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

  • Live Betting
  • Big Bonuses
  • Easy To Use
  • Mobile Betting
  • Best Odds

BitcoinVisaMastercardAmerican ExpressZelle

Rank Sportsbook Bonus Offer Play Now
1 Bovada Online Sportsbook 50% Up To $250 Read Review Visit Bovada!
2 BetOnline Online Sportsbook 50% New Member Bonus!Read Review Visit BetOnline!
3 MyBookie Online Sportsbook 50% Up To $1,000 Read Review Visit MyBookie!
4 BetUS Online Sportsbook 100% Up To $2,500 Visit BetUS!
5 Xbet Online Sportsbook 100% Up To $300Read Review Visit Xbet!
6 Sportsbetting Online Sportsbook 50% Up To $1,000 Read Review Visit SportsBetting!

What Is The Best Way To Bet On The Triple Crown?

How you bet on horse racing will depend on several factors, including your available bankroll, your knowledge of horse racing, and your risk tolerance. Even experienced sports bettors can be somewhat confused when faced with the different types of horse racing bets if they are new to the sport. The most common of these wagers are called “straight wagers.” With a straight wager, you are only betting on one horse. The different types of straight wagers are:

Win: The most straightforward option. You’re betting on the horse to win the race outright. This will accrue the highest payout of any straight bet.

Place: If you bet on a horse to place, you are betting that it will finish either first or second. Payouts are slightly lower than win bets.

Show: If you bet a horse to show, you’re wagering that the horse will finish first, second, or third. Since your odds of winning this bet are increased, the payout is decreased greatly.

Across the Board: If you bet on a horse across the board, you are placing three separate bets on the same horse–to win, place, and show. These wagers are more expensive, since it is technically three individual bets, but the payout for a winning horse is greatly increased.

Win/Place or Place/Show: These are similar to across the board bets, but with only two legs. You bet separately on the horse to win and place or place and show.

There is also a class of horse racing bets that are referred to as “exotic wagers.” These bets allow you to bet on more than one horse, greatly increasing your potential payout while also greatly increasing the degree of difficulty. Newcomers to horse racing would be wise to avoid exotic wagers in the beginning of their horse race betting careers. These exotic bets include:

Exacta: When you bet an exacta, you are betting on one horse to finish first and another to finish second. The horses must finish in first and second respectively for the bet to cash out. Some sportsbooks will allow you to “box” your exacta, allowing the two horses to come in any combination of first and second place. A boxed exacta is much more likely to payout than a regular exacta, so it will cost you double the amount of a typical exacta bet.

Quinella: A quinella is essentially the same as a boxed exacta, allowing gamblers to bet on two horses to finish in any order in the top two spots. The primary difference between a quinella and a boxed exacta is the payout: a boxed exacta costs more to place a bet than a quinella and therefore pays out at a higher rate.

Trifecta: A trifecta is similar to an exacta, but with three horses. This means that you wager on the exact first, second, and third place finishers. Also similarly to the exacta, you can box a trifecta, meaning that you bet that three particular horses will finish in any combination of first, second, and third place. A boxed trifecta will cost bettors six times the price of a standard trifecta bet.

Superfecta: A superfecta is a wager on the exact first, second, third and fourth place finishers of the race. This is perhaps the most difficult horse racing wager to win, meaning it also pays out extremely well.

Triple Crown Winners And Near-Winners

A horse is referred to as a Triple Crown winner if they win each of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes. Since 1875, the first year in which all three of these races were run, there have been a total of 13 Triple Crown winners, the first of these in 1919.

Horses To Win Two Legs Of The Triple Crown